if i use 20 machine monster in the summon of Chimeratech Overdragon and my
opponent only has one monster on the feild how many time can
Chimeratech Overdragon attack directly?
I've answered this before, but it keeps coming back again and again...
You CANNOT attack your opponent's monsters with "Chimeratech Overdragon" and then attack them directly with Chimeratech as well.
Remember that it says "This card can attack as many of your opponent's MONSTERS each turn as the number of Fusion Material Monsters you used for the Fusion Summon of this card."
We've already seen this with other cards like "Asura Priest," "Ultimate Tyranno," and "Diffusion Wave-Motion."
Official UDE Rules Dude
In regards to Chimeratech Overdragon (again), this QUESTION was asked:
"Yes,but with those cards they specifically say that if they attack a monster
first then they can't attack directly. Chimeratech overdragon can attack
directly once if u use 20 machine monster....
ex. player A has 4 scapegoats and player B brings out Chimeratech with 20
machine monster...Chimeratech would be able to attack every monster (up to 20
times,basically till field is clear ) but would only be able to attack
dirrectly once.Even if the field is clear Chimeratech can't attack the opponent as
many times as the machine monsters u used for him so he is treated like every
other monster in the sense that he can only attack a player dirrectly once.
Unless or until they erata the card,I thought this is the correct way."
You were incorrect. Chimeratech Overdragon (COD, we'll call him for short), gets
to attack 1 MONSTER for each Fusion Material monster used to Fusion Summon it.
That's it. That's all it gets. That's all the card says. He cannot attack directly
after that, because free bonus attacks do not materialize out of thin air
in the Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG.
There is no provision on COD to give it "X number of attacks" (like Ben Kei), so
that shouldn't be an issue.
Nor is there any provision on the card to have COD's attacks on monsters replace /
supplant /supercede / be instead of its normal attack. Nor does it say this is in
addition to its normal attack.
COD can attack a bunch of monsters. That's it. It's done for the turn. It can
no more attack directly after that than my Mega Thunderball could attack again
after it destroys a monster. It's done. Kaput. Move on to next monster, please.
For those pointing to Asura Priest, that was a friendly reminder text to avoid
confusion, since it was first of its kind. We have learned that friendly reminder
text like that is a MISTAKE and we no longer use it. Because people assume that
unless similar cards have the same reminder text, then it somehow lets the cards
break the rules and (in this case) get free bonus attacks out of thin air. Not
Note that Ulimate Tyranno doesn't have a friendly reminder either. Nor does
Elemental Hero Wildedge. Nor does Diffusion Wave-Motion, etc. So this is hardly
a new issue.
Hope this clears it up for everyone.
Sr. Game Designer
UDE Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG R&D Lead
Upper Deck Entertainmen